Pratt Dean Kristina Johnson Named to Board of Science Foundation Ireland

August 6, 2003

DUBLIN, Ireland -- Dean Kristina M. Johnson of Duke University’s Pratt School of Engineering has been appointed to the 12-member board of Science Foundation Ireland (SFI), the foundation announced Tuesday.

The board includes leaders from the engineering and scientific research communities, business, academia and public service. The members were selected “on the basis of their leadership experience and accomplishments in their careers,” SFI said.

“I am extremely pleased that we have been able to name such a distinguished and diverse group of leaders to serve on the board of SFI,” said Mary Harney, minister for enterprise, trade and employment. “The portfolio of skills and experiences that they will bring to SFI from leading edge scientific and engineering research, through to business, education and administration, will ensure that SFI, the director general, Dr. (William C.) Harris and his staff, can build a research culture in this country that is recognized globally for its stature and significance.”

The foundation said Johnson is an internationally known expert in optics, signal processing and computing and director emeritus of the Optoelectronics Computing Systems Center at the University of Colorado. She holds approximately 42 patents and has co-founded two companies.

Johnson in 1999 became the first woman dean of Duke’s engineering school. She is a fellow in the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Optical Society of America. She is a member of the International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE), the Sigma Xi research society, the American Society for Engineering Education, and the Engineering Honor Society Tau Beta Pi.

Johnson received her B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in electrical engineering from Stanford University. She joined the University of Colorado faculty in 1985 after research work at IBM and Trinity College in Ireland.

The other board members are:

  • Patrick Fottrell, former president, National University of Ireland, Galway;
  • Frank McCabe, former vice president, Intel Corp.;
  • Erich Bloch, principal of the Washington Advisory Group and a former director of the U.S. National Science Foundation;
  • Ned Costello, assistant secretary, Science, Technology and Intellectual Property Division, Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment;
  • Jane Grimson, vice provost of Trinity College, Dublin;
  • Anita Jones, Lawrence R. Quarles Professor of Engineering and Applied Science, University of Virginia;
  • Martina Newell-McGloughlin, director of the Biotechnology Research and Education Program at the University of California;
  • Jim Mountjoy, chairman, Prospectus Consultancy Group;
  • Don Thornhill, chairman, Higher Education Authority (HEA);
  • John Travers, chairman, Tourism Policy Review Group;
  • William C. Harris, director general, SFI.

SFI was established in 2000 to administer Ireland's Technology Foresight Fund. SFI provides awards to support scientists and engineers working in biotechnology and information and communications technology development.