May 23, 2011

Novel Man-Made Material Could Facilitate Wireless Power

DURHAM, N.C. – Electrical engineers at Duke University have determined that unique man-made materials should theoretically make it possible to improve the power transfer to small devices, such as laptops or cell phones, or ultimately to larger ones, such as cars or elevators, without wires. This [...]

December 03, 2010

Chiu and Luo win John T. Chambers Scholarship

The Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics (FIP) announced the recipients of a new award titled the John T. Chambers Scholars for the 2010-2012 academic years. Made possible by the generous support of Chambers, the program provides current Duke graduate students in the FIP $40,000 each year towards [...]

November 18, 2010

Diver, Chemist Joins Pratt Faculty

Lee Ferguson’s route through his career has been circuitous, and it’s the diverse experiences he has gained personally and professionally which he believes give him a unique perspective and set of skills to apply to the field of Environmental Engineering at Duke. He is drawn to the study of [...]

November 11, 2010

Souvik Sen wins ACM MobiCom 2010 Research Award

Fall 2010 - Computer science doctoral student Souvik Sen won the Association for Computing Machinery MobiCom graduate research award for 2010. Sen works with assistant professor Romit Roy Choudhury, who has joint appointments in the departments of ECE and CS. His work, titled "Listen Before You [...]

October 21, 2010

Light on Silicon Better than Copper?

DURHAM, N.C. -- Step aside copper and make way for a better carrier of information -- light. As good as the metal has been in zipping information from one circuit to another on silicon inside computers and other electronic devices, optical signals can carry much more, according to Duke University [...]

July 07, 2010

Noia Wins Semiconductor Research Corporation Award

2010/2011- ECE graduate student Brandon Noia has been chosen to receive the Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) Graduate Fellowship that provides a stipend plus full tuition and fees for up to five years of doctoral study. Brandon is advised by Professor Krish Chakrabarty.

July 07, 2010

Duran and Olugbade Win NSF Fellowships

2010/2011 - Second-year student Sara Duran and first-year student Akin Olugbade have each been awarded NSF fellowships that also provide the recipients with a stipend plus full tuition and fees for three years of doctoral study. Sara is advised by Professor Leslie Collins and Akin is advised by [...]

July 07, 2010

Zhao Wins Best Paper Award at IEEE INternational Conference on VLSI Design

2009/2010 - Graduate student Yang Zhao and electrical and computer engineering professor Krishnendu Chakrabarty won the best paper award at the IEEE International Conference on VLSI Design, held in Bangalore, India. This is a highly selective conference with 70 accepted papers this year out of 320 [...]

July 07, 2010

Fitpatrick Institute Awards Fellowships to ECE Graduate Students

2009/2010 - The Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics awarded one-year fellowships through the John T. Chambers Fellows program the 2009-2010 academic years. The fellowships are awarded to new recruits evaluated on the criteria of research accomplishments, research potential, personal qualities, and [...]